Our Offshore Lawyers Worldwide Anguilla Sao Paulo British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands Cyprus Vancouver Hong Kong London Montevideo Singapore Tokyo Shanghai Bermuda

Legal Updates

Developments in law or practice in our jurisdictions

CRS update: BVI publishes its list of Reportable Jurisdictions

Publication Date:
12 May 2017

On 11 May 2017, the British Virgin Islands (BVI) published its list of Reportable Jurisdictions for the Common Reporting Standards (CRS). A link to the list can be found here.

40 countries / territories are recognised as Reportable Jurisdictions for BVI law purposes, namely: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Columbia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea (South), Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden and United Kingdom.

The BVI International Tax Authority have indicated that this is a provisional list and revisions to the list will be made as agreements are put in place between treaty partners to provide the information required under the CRS.

The list of BVI Reportable Jurisdictions should be distinguished from the list of BVI Participating Jurisdictions. The list of BVI Participating Jurisdictions can be found here.

96 countries / territories are recognised as Participating Jurisdictions for BVI law purposes: Albania, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bermuda, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Columbia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Curacao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guernsey, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montserrat, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marin, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Singapore, St Maarten, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and Uruguay.

Should you have any questions, please do feel free to contact the author.

Stay informed: join our mailing list.